Central Cemetery

When Vienna grew into a city of more than one million inhabitants, the old cemeteries of the various districts became too small.

To accommodate the growing capital, the Central Cemetery, with an area of about 495 acres, was opened in 1874.

Coming from the center of the city, you pass Gate 1, which leads to the old Jewish section, a field of graves with many remarkable monuments. Among others, Arthur Schnitzler and Friedrich Torberg are interred in Group 6. Continuing along the wall, you reach the main entrance (Gate 2), an Art Nouveau structure built by Max Hegele in 1905.

Through this main gate, you walk on the main path toward the "Friedhofskirche zum heiligen Karl Borromäus" (Church of St. Borromeo), which is crowned by a large dome. The church, built by Hegele between 1908 and 1910, serves as the cemetery church and mausoleum of Lueger, the mayor of the city from 1897 to 1910. Both to the left (Groups 32a and 14a) and to the right (Groups 32c and 14c) of this main roadway is the Grave of Honor, probably the largest such arrangement of special honorary tombs in the world.

Among many others, Gluck, Beethoven, Schubert, Hugo Wolf, Johann Strauss Father and Son, Lanner and Brahms are buried in Group 32a, Bruno Kreisky, Austrian Federal Chancellor from 1970 to 1983, Arnold Schönberg and Robert Stolz in Group 32c.

Directly in front of the Memorial Church is the mausoleum in which the Austrian presidents who have died since 1945 (Renner, Körner, Schärf, Jonas) are interred. Mozart was given an honorary monument in Group 32a, but his actual grave is at the Cemetery of St. Marx, Simmeringer Hauptstraße 234

Tram 6, 71: Zentralfriedhof
Tel. 760 41

Internet  Wiener Zentralfriedhof